Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Grrrrrrrrr...:)

Here I am! Where do I start? My tablet is doing the freakout thing and not letting me post since blog-spot updated its look. Grrrr. It's been a frustrating past week with complaints about quinoa from hubby (to be expected) but from the kids who ate their full of it at the veggie class. That pissed me off severely, needless to say. Tonight was good. Last night relatively okay. Last night was tuna egg patties with brown rice, zucchini and tomato strips on romaine with homemade vinaigrette. Hubby ate two plates. Said it was different and he liked it, somehow he does not remember I have made those patties before. Always to the reaction from people, "Tuna and egg?" Yeah, boil the egg, mash, add to the tuna, crack a raw egg in, pour in a heavy dose of flaxseed, mix and use an icecream scoop to lay em on the grill. Yes, me and flax are still fierce friends, teehee. Tonight was cheesy peasy couscous. Homemade vegetarian cheese with sweet peas in couscous, yum. Also, we had coleslaw with zucchini in it and I did turkey with kidney beans. The bag of beans I did in the crock-pot last night got left on the dinner table today when I left for work, and were slimy when I got home. :( Can you say pissed off. I didn't even blink, I went to a plan B I didn't even know I had. Turkey. I bought the turkey, as I usually do these past weeks with meat, to "soften the blow" of my complete vegetarian/vegan/raw rage. So Sunday evening I cooked parboiled rice and a steak. I ended up with that rice because Friday, no money, no grocery, my cousin hands me two humungous chicken legs/thighs with a bag of rice, happy was she to help. So I took it. I had to feed my family. I used one leg to feed them three, and I just ate everything else. Then the other leg got cooked Sunday afternoon to go with the quinoa cause I knew, quinoa is new, there ga be a fight. Just wasn't expecting the kids to kick off over it. smh So steak and rice it was Sunday night, but I got 'em, they had tvp with their rice, not steak. Hubby had the steak. So I have been noting mentally how I feel. I feel freer, I feel more intrigued. I had literally started coming home and be almost in tears because I had to make rice and some type meat "new again". I was just plain exhausted. I am not on this new kick just for something new, but because I feel so good when I eat the way I am eating. When I look out for new recipes, I discover that the world of vegetarianism seems boundless, more creative and more intriguing than the meat eating world. There seems to be less limits, and almost in a bid to prove that eating healthy can be just as tasty, if not tastier, recipes are coming at me faster than I can try them. And I love this. And tonight I sat and told him he is supposed to wake up hungry. That's what the argument was this morning, he woke up hungry, and he doesn't usually. *rolling my eyes* Your body is responding to my healthy assault on it. He will eat his raw oats in the morning with almond milk and and a bit of honey. Honey I proudly scored from Andros. And he was asking about the raw palm sugar I bought. There is hope yet... :)

1 comment:

  1. Whoop whoop! Whoop whoop! I needed to read some good news tonight, and here it is. What's that corny song? "Dun dun dun dun dun, dun da da dun dun dun dun dun, PERSEVERE!" Etc.

    I love hearing about the glimmers of hope. Or flashes, or strong, steady beams. Change doesn't always come easy, but this type of change is well worth it. Being able to feel different is one of the best and most quickly-felt adjustments. Vegetarian, vegan, and raw cooking is truly wonderful: reliance on spices and seasonings, dipping into all kinds of cultures and ingredients and, best of all, the creativity. So many wonderful vegetable and grain dishes on their own, and literally anything can be veganized, often with good, wholesome ingredients. Enjoy the journey!

    ReplyDelete