Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Kiddies - Lunch - Snack - Turn Around

I did a complete turn around this school year.  I didn't indulge the kids in a lot of junk this summer, they had, but not as much as I used to allow.

Then I wrote up a basic menu outline for lunch and snack and this week is going good so far.  I know it's only two days in, but they are bringing home the popcorn and not the fruits and veggies!  Yay!  I cut out the chips and juice.  I bought juice bottles with the intention of making switcha or something, but they haven't noticed that they are only carrying water to school, lol. Yay again!

So, their bags have looked like this:

Monday -
Cukes and tomatoes (baby girl only had cukes - doesn't like tomatoes)
Popcorn
Grapes
Pasta salad with tuna, shredded cheese and homemade oil/vinegar dressing
Water

Today -
Orange wedges
Pasta salad with cole slaw tossed in and oil/vinegar dressing
Popcorn
Kiwi, cantaloupe, mango medley (for baby boy)
Apple (for baby girl)
Water

Tomorrow-
Mixed Veg & Rice with egg rolls (an interesting recipe I found on a Chinese youtube cooking channel - it's actually eggs cooked and rolled in layers)
Kiwi etc medley (for baby boy)
Cukes & Tomatoes (baby boy)
Plum & grapes (baby girl)
Popcorn
Water

Then I got loads of carrots to make carrot sticks and dip.  There's peanut butter and what not to go with that.  Then I got advice on how to grow my own alfalfa and bean sprouts!  I hope I can keep this up.  It's the finances that often hit, but I am going to do a review of this week and crunch the numbers.  It helps that I bought stuff from the discount cart as I usually do.  And it's a pretty consistent possibility to keep THAT up, so I will do a processed bagged shit vs the healthy stuff price comparison Friday night and weigh things.

Chips have gone up anyways, and a cucumber is less than two dollars, and it fed my son for two days, the chips usually last a week and are about five dollars.  It's looking good...YAY ME!
               

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

If at first...fricassee...

Today I googled some recipes to get me back in the swing.  In my refrigerator - FINALLY - sit a zuccini and a cucumber.  There are apples and oranges and plantains, and chickpeas, pintos, split peas and I could go on, but you get the idea.

We are having turkey chili tonight.  This is to get the beans into the hollow bellies I call my children.  Tomorrow, I plan chickpea patties.  My darling crockpot is going into overdrive.  Today it was the pintos, tonight when I get home, the chickpeas.

Then maybe I will see what's going to happen with the split peas.  The weather can't make up its doggone mind, so I guess a soup won't be happening.  I have cabbage and carrots and vinegar, so my darling daughter can go on her cole slaw kick again.  I also got tomatoes.  My new list, I sat and painstakingly made also had tofu on it, but I had to juggle some things around and that along with other things got left out.  But - I have made a damn start and that's all that matters.

He's mentioned he wants to drop some weight as well, he's got a beautiful "married belly" and he's concerned about my weight.  So we're about to embark on a journey of feeling better and getting lighter.  I wonder if this lap will be a bit more successful because he understands where I am coming from...

I am excited again about changing the food we are eating.  I always welcome it and hope I notice this time when the grocery list gets encumbered with ridiculously processed garbage and other things...sometimes I even have the raw debate in my head for some things...but then I say no.

One baby step at a time... :)